Skip to content

Jewish Challah Bread

April 19, 2011

When I grow up I want to be a baker. I want to live in a bakery on the shores of Italy where the sun beams in from the open, rustic kitchen. I want to knead and roll until my hands go tingly. I want my hair to smell of fresh bread and vanilla when the cool breeze catches it. I want to be dusted with flour and dotted with chocolate every day. I want to have scars from pulling hot sugar and reaching into brick ovens.

Until then, I will practice. I’ll make Rosemary & Olive Focaccia to give to my neighbors and friends. I’ll bake Irish Soda Bread for St. Patrick’s Day just so I have something to nibble on with my Guinness.  I’ll make Eclairs, Paris Brest and Creme Puffs just because they’re beautiful. In this case, I’ll make Jewish Challah bread during Passover week because-to be honest- I am not Jewish and forget that leavened bread is a no-no for some during this time. But this I will keep for myself- it would be just evil to tempt those refraining from bread for the holiday. And I’ll share all the dreaming I whip up. I hope yall enjoy this soft and buttery bread as much as I do. Or enjoy it AS I do swathed with sticky, sweet honey,  a hot cup of chamomile tea and an array of colorful, juicy fruit. Nothing could be more refreshing on these Spring days.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. Hope permalink
    April 19, 2011 8:50 pm

    Whose man hands are those in your steps for folding the challah? Really threw me for a loop for a sec. I was like, “wow, Kelsey’s hands are getting pretty tough from all that CIA training…”

    • April 19, 2011 10:03 pm

      hahahaha hope! they’re my chef’s hands in class

    • Morgan permalink
      April 21, 2011 7:46 pm

      hahaha i thought that exact same thing! i took a double-take!

  2. Leigh Parker permalink
    April 20, 2011 1:15 am

    my mouth just watered!!!

  3. April 20, 2011 4:21 am

    This looks delicious and all, but how is this possibly perfect for Passover? You can’t eat anything leavened–and that includes things with yeast and flour!

    • April 20, 2011 9:37 am

      to everyone who commented-I typed that and then immediately went, “Crap!” after I posted it. It hit me that I put perfect for Passover when obviously, bread in any way is not the best choice. I am sorry if this offended anyone-it was a complete lapse of thinking on my part! So sorry!

  4. Charlie B permalink
    April 20, 2011 4:56 am

    Upon further reading I found you that you weren’t completely ignorant for your comment “perfect for your Passover celebrations.” However, given that the Jewish calendar is a very festive one, there would be many much more appropriate holidays to post a recipe for Challah bread. For future reference, a holiday in which the bread is dipped in honey is Rosh Hashanah. In fact, the bread is eaten every Friday night for Shabbat (except this week), so this week was really a poor choice on your part. Otherwise, the recipe and photos prove you do know how to make a good Challah.

  5. Stefanie permalink
    April 20, 2011 5:30 am

    You tag line on foodgawker made me laugh – you do know that Passover is the Jewish holiday where you’re not allowed to eat leavened bread or other foods, right? So challah, while delicious, would not be perfect for a Passover celebration.

  6. April 20, 2011 6:01 am

    love love Challah and love braiding it even more! we learned the 6 strand with “inside outside, outside middle” :) thanks for sharing!

  7. April 20, 2011 6:13 am

    Amazing post! With all the braiding photos, I wish I had those when I made my first Challah! Yours look just deliciuos! But it’s a recipe for patient people – I can’t imagine myself making a starter :-)

  8. April 20, 2011 8:20 am

    Too funny! I saw your gorgeous photo on Foodgawker and thought to myself “What?! Challah on Passover?!” and coming here I laughed out loud : “I’ll make Jewish Challah bread during their Passover week because I’m not Jewish and can eat all the bread I want. ” Brilliant! And perfect, perfect Challah! Yes, I always wanted to be a baker and absolutely love baking bread. I’ll try your Challah recipe very soon!

  9. April 20, 2011 9:33 am

    nelly-thank you! i’ve never heard of the 6 strand and am going to have to try that method out!

  10. April 20, 2011 5:56 pm

    great job! I will have to surprise my husband with this! I think he is tired of matzo :D

  11. Robin permalink
    April 20, 2011 11:42 pm

    Evil…just evil….to make such a gorgeous challah and post it during Passover! Brilliant, but evil! Bet you got a bunch of new people interested in your blog. Can’t wait to try the recipe…AFTER PASSOVER!

    • April 21, 2011 2:10 am

      Robin-haha I really did feel slightly evil once I realized what I did! But thank you for the sweet comment and I hope you try it after Passover- it is a good one!

  12. Sarah permalink
    April 21, 2011 4:20 am

    hahahahahahaha, “perfect for Passover.” :( I wish.

  13. Morgan permalink
    April 21, 2011 7:43 pm

    you are amazing.

  14. April 23, 2011 5:09 pm

    The challah looks wonderful and has the perfect crumb. I look forward to trying your recipe after Passover, thank you for sharing.

  15. April 30, 2011 1:01 pm

    Challah is delicious….sweet and buttery, and absolutely scrumptious on its own, with unsalted butter, and a nice cup of tea. Yummy! ^_^ Won’t be baking it ‘though…my baking results in ‘rock’ cakes!

  16. Becky permalink
    August 17, 2011 7:19 pm

    Do you have the breakdown of the recipe for if I only wanted to make 2 or 3 loaves? I know when baking things reducing and increasing the amount sometimes it’s not as simple as dividing or multiplying ingredients and I was curious if you’ve used this recipe to make fewer loaves before. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

