Skip to content

All I Need is Food

April 6, 2011

The more I learn, the more I grow, I find that I return to the same things-and appreciate them more. I am a firm believer that sugar and wine can solve even the hardest problems, ketchup can make almost anything taste delicious, that the calories don’t REALLY count if no one is watching,  and simply that food is life. Food changes everything for me-my mood, my plans, my actions. It is my life. And lately, it has been my source of comfort-what I have needed to cheer me up. I have never been one of those “I’m just too upset to eat” people. I am more of a “give me a pint of ice cream and cookie dough ASAP before I start crying”  person. So I will just simply say that I have been enjoying food as a source of comfort a little more in the past week than usual. To be more specific, my one true love-peanut butter. And if you ask me, a peanut butter and jelly sandwich really can cure everything… at least momentarily.

While I was living in NYC, I became OBSESSED with a certain brand of peanut butter. I have dug in to many a jar of peanut butter, and this is by far the best brand, with the best varieties that I have ever had the pleasure of licking off my spoon. So imagine my excitement when I discovered one rainy day that this beloved peanut butter had its own little shop in SoHo full of all peanut buttery things (yes, I am in fact so obsessed that I googled it- I’m also aware I may have a problem, and I don’t care). Obviously I immediately braved the cold rain and headed down to Peanut Butter & Co. where I was immediately giddy by the cuteness of the whole thing. A blue and white umbrella huggs the entrance where the words “Peanut Butter & Co.” are etched in big, tween-style bubble letters across the top. Vintage peanut butter signs flank the small room where diner-style tables host everyone from canoodling couples and artsy NYU students to laughing toddlers with sticky jam hands. And the meal itself-so very simple, and comforting with a nostalgic theme-could not have been more  perfect to soothe my soul. Each custom sandwich is cut down the middle, served with crunchy carrot sticks, salty ruffles chips and a tall cup of milk with a bobbling straw-just like mom use to do it!!! As if  that wasn’t precious enough, a tray of brown paper sacks and sheets of tinfoil sit near the door for the option of packing up your leftovers, old-school style. As I sloshed down the wet New York streets, in my green rain boots-brown bag in hand-I couldn’t help feeling a little warm inside as I drifted back to a time when recess and my seat at the lunch table were the only things on my mind. And, I felt happy. So, I recommend you buy this peanut butter, make yourself a good ‘ole fashioned PB&J and let yourself reminisce. Trust me, you’ll enjoy it.

My favorite variety-The Bees Knees. Heaven. Salty peanut butter + sticky, sweet honey. Seriously yall-what could POSSIBLY go wrong?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2011 9:14 pm

    Love this post. It’s amazing the impact food can have. Most of my memories from my childhood and travels revolve around food and certain tastes can definitely take you back to a moment. It’s kind of crazy!

    Heading to NYC this weekend – might just stop in to PB & Co. Thanks for the recommendation!

  2. April 7, 2011 1:07 am

    peanut butter and honey was like my thing when i was a little girl. i used to get a spoonful of peanut butter and then drizzle the honey over top and eat it.

    and pb&co. enough said. i’m midway through a jar of dark chocolate dreams myself right now..

  3. April 7, 2011 1:28 am

    Oh.my.holy.pants.
    I had no idea a place of such magic and joy existed.
    PB&J is basically edible happiness.
    Must visit this place.
    Thanks for sharing!

  4. Alessandra Sarin permalink
    April 7, 2011 3:04 pm

    I LOVE this peanut butter. I have a jar of the Dark Chocolate Dreams flavor in my drawer at my office and I eat it by the spoonful. I’ve GOT to try this place in NYC!

  5. Leigh Parker permalink
    April 11, 2011 3:13 am

    too bad allie will never be able to eat there – and we all know we are the kind of girls that need some ice cream and your cookie dough after a rough day!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

