Skip to content

Fall Apple Tart

November 24, 2010

I just though of this yesterday and made it. I’m now in love & want it every single day. Forever & ever. So I think yall should make this for Thanksgiving tomorrow. Trust me…you will make a lot of people happy. I mean it’s apples (at the peak of apple season, mind you), cinnamon, fall spices, and heavenly, flaky pastry crust. O and butter which always makes everything delicious. And it is so, so, soooooo easy. Plus it has apples in it which negate all the calories in the puff pastry, butter & sugar. So basically, this is a really, really great dessert that’s also very good for you. Atleast that’s what I am going to be telling myself tomorrow as I consume mass amounts of it… again. So just make it, K? Have a Happy Happy Thanksgiving!

O and for a little snack for your guests while they wait, I would also make THIS

And I may or may not have also made one of THESE (but with real sugar, duh)…

Or one of THESE

Ok so maybe my new tradition involves eating a lot of pie, pastries, chex mix and possibly even chocolate molten cakes. Or maybe not…I never tell my secrets.

Fall Apple Tart

1 box puff pastry dough
3 apples (whatever ones taste the best at the time-I used Macintosh & Green)
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 Tbsp. vanilla
1 Tbsp. cinnamon
1 tsp. cloves
1 tsp. nutmeg
1 tsp. lemon juice, fresh squeezed
2 Tbsp. butter, melted
pinch of salt

  • First, take out puff pastry to thaw slightly. You do NOT want this to get soft, just thawed enough to be able to unfold the sheets
  • Preheat oven @350
  • Slice apples as thin as possible & put in mixing bowl
  • Pour sugar, spices, lemon juice, vanilla over apples & let sit for 15 minutes or up to 2 days, set aside.
  • Unfold puff pastry & cut into desired width (I did rectangles about 3 inches wide, 5 inches long)
  • Lay apples over puff pastry, being sure you leave free space around the edges
  • Brush edges of puff pastry with melted butter
  • Bake for 10-15 minutes or until golden brown then brush top off apples with melted butter & serve (Maybe with vanilla icecream!)
  • 4 Comments leave one →
    1. Leigh Parker permalink
      November 29, 2010 2:06 am

      i’ve decided… i’ll buy the groceries, and you will make delicious treats like this everyday ok? i gained 5lbs over thanksgiving, what’s another 15… it’s worth it for your food!!! yum yum!

    2. November 29, 2010 2:11 am


    3. February 24, 2011 6:49 pm

      Looks amazing! Love your blog :)

    4. Jessi permalink
      March 3, 2011 12:08 am

      I found your blog the other day, saw this recipe, and just fell in love with it. I bought the puff pastry sheets today and plan on making it tonight! :D

    Leave a Reply

        Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 71 other followers

