Skip to content

Wafels & Dinges

November 4, 2010

Lately, I have been on a food-find hunt. More specifically-simple, semi-fast, delicious small meals. Part of this new obsession, I believe, is because I work in a fine dining restaurant and want to enjoy some change on my days off. The other part is because I am in a city full of things to do & I always have a lingering anticipation in the back of my mind, ready to get on to my next adventure. Which means that most of my meals are grab & go or enjoyed on a bench in the park. I have also been known to go to 3 different places to eat 3 bites of food. Wasteful? Yep. But I can’t stop (I told you it was an obsession). So without further ado…

Wafels & Dinges– a newly famous Belgian waffle truck that travels around manhattan, ┬ádelivering sweet goodness to New Yorkers & tourists alike. But the best part & special thing about these waffles is that you can top them with any “dinges” you like. ┬áBut these dinges aren’t your typical toppings. For example, the speculoos spread. A sandwich spread modeled after Belgian speculoos cookies, with a sweet, spicy, caramel flavor in a peanut butter consistency. HEAVEN. If Nutella & Speculoos were in a battle, I think spec might win. And if you remember this post praising Nutella, then you know how serious I am. So do yourself (not so much your waistline) a favor & hunt this truck down when you get here-you won’t regret it!

The Throwdown Wafel-sooooo delish.

Just a precaution, you will get whipped cream on your nose. It’s inevitable.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Isabelle Planz permalink
    November 4, 2010 10:23 pm

    Those things are my absolute favorite…except, i’m a loyal fan of nutella!!!

  2. Lauren Johnston permalink
    November 5, 2010 3:14 am

    I would probably go to 3 different places to eat 3 different meals…that sounds delish. Put that on our menu for late night breakfast.

  3. November 6, 2010 3:20 am

    I’m kind of proud to say we did this. And that that’s my hand and finger in this post. :)

  4. Leigh Parker permalink
    November 8, 2010 9:17 pm

    my mouth is watering… these remind me of our crepe days in paris! love it! and it is so true. you order all these great things and just have a few bites to try it out… and i devour the rest :)

    • November 9, 2010 6:39 am

      hahaha this is why i love you best frand. cannot wait for you to get here. seriously. its taking over my mind!

  5. Carlie permalink
    November 27, 2010 4:37 pm

    i just saw in Real Simple that you can buy the spekuloos spread online!

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

