Skip to content

I ♥ NY

September 30, 2010

Currently…I am sitting in Starbucks at the corner of 79th and York, cup of coffee in hand, typing away as the city rain taps outside the window. Perfect? I think so. I am a New Yorker!!! Well, sort of. Actually…not at all, but I am working on it! I flew in to NYC Saturday night and met a friend for drinks & Auburn football at Southern Hospitality (o and I rocked my Auburn t-shirt, just in case yall were wondering). But guess who I ran into? Guess! I ran into no other than Gossip Girl’s Chace Crawford. I giggled like a 4 year old little girl. But I did NOT take his picture. I thought about it, trust me. But he had on a hat and was clearly there to watch the game & drink some beer with the guys, so I let him. I did almost pull a Gossip Girl moment though and sneak a camera phone picture, super sketchily (I’m not sure if that’s a word, but it seems appropriate & I’m gonna go with it).

While sitting on the floor, watching Grey’s Anatomy with the fresh fall breeze blowing through my sparkling windows, I also enjoyed my first meal in my new NYC apt. of comforting hot oatmeal with cinnamon &  banana. Besides being nutritious, satisfying and deceptively delicious, banana-cinnamon oatmeal will leave your room smelling like a mixture of Thanksgiving & heaven for a good 3 hours. True story. This meal was not enjoyed alone, I must add. My CIA friend, fellow blogger, & roomie for a week, Bekah has an extern at 11 Madison & is staying with me until she can move in to her apt. in Brooklyn. It has been a blessing because we are equally nervous and equally in desperate need of some company to calm us down. The only thing is that she works from 5AM-6 or 7 PM and I work from 12AM-11 or 12 PM. Opposite schedules, to say the least.

After sleeping in until 11:30 on Sunday, we had a full day of wandering the streets of NYC where we stumbled upon a great restaurant in Little Brazil. We both ordered a bowl of hot soup (caldo verde for me, feijoada black bean soup for Bek) and an avocado-stuffed seafood salad, drizzled with homemade salsa. Unexpectedly great lunch and for a good price. I even scored a few purchases that I was pleased with (a mop, pair of lace-up booties, 2 plastic mini-drawers, tinted Laura Mercier moisturizer, & groceries-but who’s keeping track?). All in all, it was a great day.

I have some pics from my cousin Sarah’s fiesta party as well as the cake I did for her. Now I am off to get ready for work. Wish me luck!


Chocolate Pound Cake with Double Chocolate Buttercream frosting & Cream Cheese Pound Cake with Vanilla Buttercream frosting

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Jessica permalink
    September 30, 2010 3:24 pm

    KELS! I love Sarah’s cake! You are so talented. Have I told you that today? Love you and miss you. Call me after work today. Ive got exciting news for you. Love you

  2. Leigh Parker permalink
    September 30, 2010 6:51 pm

    You’re a new yorker!!!!!!!!! and i’ll be joining you soon.. but not soon enough! i love you so much and i’m so happy for you!! The cake you made for Sarah looked amazing! xoxo

  3. Mary Duncan Waters permalink
    October 1, 2010 12:41 am

    That cake looks like something I would see on food network challenge…you are seriously soooo freaking talented!

  4. October 7, 2010 12:36 am

    Aww Kels.. I loved rooming with you for a week! It was much necessary and I have to say, sleeping from head to toe everynight-quality time to say the least.

    Looking forward to our Sundays!

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

