Skip to content

Best Times

January 11, 2010

So I have these friends that are the best, to say the least. We were going to go to the beach this week end for a final farewell/annual best friend vacation but then life happened. So they came to Dothan. We drank wine, ate ridiculous amounts of food, saw movies, and just hung out. It was exactly what I needed for my last week end in the south and I will miss those 3 girls more than life. But before I get sad, I will start talking about food. Friday I cooked them bruschetta and eggplant parmesan which are two of my absolute favorite foods. I have never been a huge pasta fan but have always loved Italian food, which is why the eggplant parmesan is perfect for me. And I could eat bruschetta everyday. Literally every single day. I am obsessed with it. And apparantly my friends are too because we ate the eggplant leftovers Saturday night plus I made more bruschetta and boiled some artichokes. Artichokes are also one of my favorite things in the world. When I was younger, we used to have those only on special occasion and I would get so excited just to know I got to eat them. And since I missed Allie’s birthday due to my tonsil surgery, I made her a trifle and we pretended she was just now turning 21. It was truly fun. O and did I mention we ate the entire trifle that night? Sick. And then we made THIS cookie dough because it is Jess’ favorite thing in the world and I always make it for her. That cookie dough…it has seen it’s share of tears, laughs, tantrums, and everything else. I am really glad it has no way of repeating what it hears…we would be in trouble. We also snuck our own candy, popcorn and drinks in to see Leap Year. They were 100 calorie bags… does it still count if you eat like 5 bags? I didn’t think so, but we felt like it was better for us. We laughed at the ridiculous people in the theatre more than the movie, but it was totally worth the money. Anyways, I am already missing them and feel like I am missing an arm or something when they aren’t here. But atleast I know they will come visit. O ya, have I mentioned I am moving in 3 days…as in THREE days I will no longer be living in the south. I never thought I would utter the words. Changes are coming, that is for sure. But back to packing now!

◊Happy Fake Birthday to Allie!

◊Ladies & gentlemen, meet the birthday girl, Allie Barlow…

◊Did I mention I have hott best friends?

◊Artichokes dipped in butter, Eggplant Parmesan, Bruschetta, YUM…

◊We have serious fun together. I really, really love them alot…

◊And now they love artichokes too!…

◊And Jess learned to cut a tomato! So proud of you friend (I seriously am proud though, Jess)…

◊Too. Much. Food.

◊Trifle domination…slightly disgusting, alot delicious.

Eggplant Parmesan

2 eggplants
2-3 cups Italian bread crumbs
3 eggs, beaten
4-5 cups marinara sauce (I used store bought because I got lazy…it was still delish)
8 oz. sliced mozzarella cheese or 1 cup shredded mozzarella
1 cup parmesan cheese
fresh basil to top

  • Pre heat oven @350
  • Slice eggplant in to 1 inch slices then dip in eggs then breadcrumbs
  • Lay on cookie sheets & bake for 10 minutes on each side
  • In a large casserole dish pour sauce to coat bottom
  • In the dish layer in following order: eggplant, cheeses, sauce
  • Top with cheese & basil then bake for 20-25 more minutes or until bubbling
  • Serve with pasta
  • One Comment leave one →
    1. Allie Barlow permalink
      January 12, 2010 12:07 am

      best friend everrrrrr! maybe not anymore after those pictures though…

    Leave a Reply

        Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 71 other followers

