Skip to content

Mini Bundt Cakes>>>Day 4

December 10, 2009

“Christmas, children, is not a date. It is a state of mind.” -Mary Ellen Chase

Day 4. I don’t know about ya’ll, but I just love miniature things. Anything that is supposed to be a certain size but instead has been shrunken into a tiny, little miniature version is just precious. Don’t get me wrong though, this can go both ways. I like big things, too. Like those new cupcake cake pans that you can make a giant cupcake in (I will purchase one in the very near future & show you all what I’m talking about, if not) or those giant Hershey kisses. Big things need lovin too, right? But seriously, I got this mini bundt pan a while back and haven’t really used it that much until now. It was SO fun. You can’t really get the full-effect of their size in the pictures, but they are about 2 inches across or about the size of a standard cupcake. So, so unbelievably cute. They make me smile. And they come in 2 flavors because I just couldn’t decide. Here’s why…I found some old-fashioned gingersnaps in the grocery store the other day & thought, “I must buy these NOW. I mean what if they run out? How often do you see old-fashioned gingersnaps?” Completely irrational and ridiculous, I realize, but I did use them. One of the mini-cake flavors is Gingersnap Pound Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting, and the other is Lemon Cranberry Pound Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting. I used leftover pound cake batter from some cakes I made earlier that day, and then just mixed in the flavors by hand. The gingersnap was my favorite. So yummy. They taste kind of like a giant, sticky, fresh cinnamon roll with gingersnap cookies mixed in. So good. Turns out my random, unnecessary purchase was in fact necessary. Very Necessary. The Lemon Cranberry Pound Cake is just as good also, I just wasn’t as excited about it because I’ve made it before. But it is such a refreshing and light cake, definitely a winner, too. Anyways… make one of the recipes and you will see, they’re good, I swear. 15 days until Christmas! Enjoy!

◊Making the Lemon Cranberry…

◊Making the Gingersnap…

◊View from the top…

◊They’re just so cute I wanna eat ’em all up!

◊They fit right in the palm of your hand…

Gingersnap Pound Cake & Lemon Cranberry Pound Cake

3 sticks margarine
8oz. package cream cheese
3 cups sugar
3 cups flour
6 eggs
1 tsp. vanilla
1 cup sugar
For the Gingerbread Cookie Cake…
1 1/2 cups crushed gingerbread cookies
For the Lemon Cranberry Cake…
1/3 cup fresh lemon juice
4 Tbsp. lemon zest
1 cup dried cranberries
1/2 cup flour

  • Pre-heat oven @325 for bundt, 300 for loaf & mini cakes
  • In a mixer, cream together the cream cheese & margarine
  • Add sugar, then eggs, then flour
  • Add vanilla & beat until creamy with no lumps
  • Divide batter in half & put in 2 bowls
  • In one bowl stir in crushed gingerbread cookies then set aside
  • In a small bowl, toss cranberries with flour to prevent them from sinking
  • Stir cranberries, lemon juice & zest in with remaining batter
  • Spoon in greased & floured desired pan
  • Bake for about 75 mins if bund, 45 mins if loaf,30 mins if mini cakes (to check: stick toothpick in & if it comes out clean, it’s done)
  • Cream Cheese Frosting

    2-8oz. packages cream cheese
    1 stick butter
    4 cups powdered sugar
    1 Tbsp. vanilla

  • Beat cream cheese & butter together until creamy
  • Slowly add in sugar then vanilla
  • Beat on medium-high speed until creamy with no lumps
  • Frost cool cakes or melt for 30 seconds & use as drizzle
  • 2 Comments leave one →
    1. Leigh Parker permalink
      December 11, 2009 7:30 pm

      I can’t wait to eat my mini bundt cakes!! I’m so lucky to have a sweet friend like you.

    2. December 12, 2009 1:52 am

      I’m so glad you liked them! you’re the best

    Leave a Reply

        Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 71 other followers

