Skip to content

I should thank the Germans

November 16, 2009

This past week end I went to Athens, GA for the Auburn/Georgia game. Let me just say that place is CRAZY. But I really liked the campus and LOVED the town. They have the cutest little restaurants and shops and it really has a New Orleans French Quarter feel to it. The downtown area really feels sort of stuck in time which I think is really great and so fun to just wonder around. PLUS they already had some Christmas decorations up which really, really made me happy. But it was a long week end and a really long drive for me so I am pretty much still dead. Anyways…my friend, Lee’s, 21st birthday was this past week end and her favorite cake is a German Chocolate Cake. I’ve never made this cake before and was surprised to find out that even with all of the cake cook books I have, I did not have a single book with a recipe (Shocking). So I ended up combining a few recipes I found on line (don’t remember where) and it turned out SOOO good. I think this might be my new favorite cake; I could not stop eating the scraps. The only thing about this cake is that baking with coconut is always a risky thing because I think most people either love it or hate it. I happen to love it so this cake was pretty much perfect for me. The recipe is at the bottom. Enjoy!

INGREDIENTS

UNCOOKED

UNFROSTED GERMAN

GERMAN CHOC CAKE

German Chocolate Cake

For cake…
1 package Baker’s German chocolate
½ cup water
2 sticks butter
2 cups sugar
4 egg yolks
1 tsp. vanilla
2 cups flour
1 tsp. baking soda
¼ tsp. salt
1 cup buttermilk
For coconut/pecan filling…
1 cup evaporated milk
1 cup sugar
3 egg yolks
1 stick butter
1 tsp. vanilla
1 ¼ cup shredded coconut
1 cup chopped pecans
For chocolate frosting…
2 packages cream cheese frosting
1 stick butter
4 cups powdered sugar
½ cup cocoa powder
1 tsp. vanilla

  • Pre-heat oven @350
  • Melt chocolate with water until chocolate melts, stirring constantly
  • Beat sugar & butter until creamy
  • Add egg yolks, beating after each addition
  • Pour in chocolate mixture & vanilla
  • Slowly add flour, baking soda, & salt alternately with buttermilk
  • Bake in 3 greased & lined round pans for 30-35 mins or until toothpick comes out clean
  • Prepare coconut/pecan filling by combining all ingredients & cooking over medium heat for 5 minutes
  • Place in fridge to cool for atleast 15 mins
  • Prepare chocolate frosting by first beating cream cheese & butter together until creamy
  • Slowly add remaining ingredients & beat until creamy with no lumps
  • Once cake is cool, spread coconut/pecan filling between each layer & frost sides of cake with chocolate frosting
  • Serve & enjoy!
  • 2 Comments leave one →
    1. MLH permalink
      November 16, 2009 11:26 pm

      YES! I was hoping you would post this recipe. My cake was AMAZING! BEST EVER! Thank you so much!

    2. Maryann Kirkland permalink
      November 18, 2009 3:41 am

      sooo yummy

    Leave a Reply

        Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 71 other followers

