Skip to content

Sugar High

November 5, 2009

“Once there was a little girl who wanted to bake the most delicious cookies in the world. She dreamed of baking cookies fit for royalty.” –The Queen of Hearts by Elizabeth Callan

I am LITERALLY up to my elbows in sugar this week. I am making 5 cakes (all decorated) for this Saturday. As well as a few other little things I am baking for people. My hands are a nice dirt brownish-orange color from coloring fondant and my hands are actually sore. I know that sounds crazy but it seriously happens-molding fondant is a hand workout. But I’m going to stop there because I’m going to post about the cakes once they are finished. But back to the point of this post. Homemade cookie dough is quite possibly my favorite thing in the world. I use the same recipe my mom used when I was little and it is seriously the best cookie recipe of all time. Ever. I’ve made some adjustments to the recipe, but believe-it-or-not it is straight from the Nestle Tollhouse chocolate chip package. I wish I could say it was like my great-grandma’s recipe or something but that would be lying and I would just feel like a big fake. I can vividly remember my mom making these cookies and I would sit there and just eat giant spoonful after spoonful of this buttery, sweet dough. I make it for my friends all the time and they have even started to request cookie dough only, no cookies. I like to make a bunch of it and keep it in the freezer in case I have a sporadic desert & wine girls night or just a bad day and need to eat away my sorrows. I sent these cookies for my best friend/pledge sister, Ginger, who got nominated for Chi O treasurer on Sunday. She’s a super smart accountant whiz (the absolute opposite of me) and will seriously do a great job. I also made some chocolate chip pecan cookies for my dad with the leftover dough because they are his absolute favorite thing in the world. As in he likes them so much that he ate 4 right out of the oven, and polished off the remained 10 by the next night. No joke. They are addicting, I must warn you. So the recipe is at the bottom for (prepare yourself for this mouthful): oatmeal chocolate chunk cookies, oatmeal peanut butter chocolate-chip cookies, and chocolate-chip pecan cookies. Basically, you just make the dough and throw in whatever you want. I assure you almost anything would be good in this. Except guacamole. Or pickles. Ewwwww sick, did anyone just imagine what that would taste like? Well I did…gross. Anyways, enjoy your cookies however you may like them!




◊Got milk?

cookies & milk


Best Cookie Dough

2 sticks softened butter
¾ cup sugar
¾ cup light brown sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp. vanilla
1 tsp. salt
1 Tbsp. baking soda
2 ½ cups flour
Chocolate chips, pecans, peanut butter, or any other fillings

  • Pre-heat oven @350 degrees
  • Beat butter with sugars until creamy
  • Add remaining ingredients until well incorporated
  • Spoon cookie dough in 1-2 inch balls on a greased cookie sheet
  • bake for 12-15 mins or until golden
  • 4 Comments leave one →
    1. Jessica permalink
      November 30, 2009 6:57 am

      I think this should be named the breakup cookie dough…you know why ha! this stuff cures all of our heartbreaks and bad nights. ps. I CANT STOP READING THE BLOG and i have class at 8… kill me. Love you and see you friday! I`ll bake for you for a change since you`ll be sick in bed.

    2. Jessica permalink
      November 30, 2009 6:59 am

      This needs to be named broken heart cookie dough… its cures all of our problems : ) get excited for me to come cook/bake for you on friday since you`ll be sick in bed. Maybe my food will be so pretty it can earn a place on here?? ya probably not though. haha love you and miss you already

    3. Leigh Parker permalink
      May 24, 2010 2:47 am

      hi! we just made your cookie dough! i love you! and i miss when you make the cookie dough!!!


    1. Bests «

    Leave a Reply

        Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 71 other followers

