Skip to content

Halloween Cake Bites

October 26, 2009

As much as I love baking, the ONE downside is all the baked treats I accumulate. I usually only eat a few bites of the sweets I make because… A.) they are terrible for you, and B.) I tend to not want to eat it after I make it. It’s weird, I know, but the longer I spend making it, the more likely I am to not eat it. I have a HUGE sweet tooth, but even I can’t eat all the stuff I make. And I also can not stand to waste or throw away anything; it’s one of my biggest pet peeves. Usually I make trifles out if my leftover cake, but there are some cakes that just don’t make good trifles. THIS cake that I made the other day is one of them. So what do you do with the piles of cake you have leftover that you simply cannot take another bite of? Make cake bites, of course! This wasn’t my original idea though, I must say. My pledge sister at Auburn was kind of famous for her red velvet cake balls and these are just a spin-off of those. But with Halloween this weekend, these are perfect for a party or to even give away as treats for trick-or-treaters if you’re feeling really generous. They are really easy, here’s how you do it:

◊Take your leftover cake…


And mix it with this (you can use homemade frosting, but I tried it with both & you coudn’t tell the difference)…


◊Then roll the mix into balls & freeze them for about 2 hours…

cake balls

◊Now stick some lollipop sticks into them, & dip them in this (melt first)…


◊Then decorate however you like…

OCT-halloween cake pops

◊And enjoy!

Happy Halloween

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Leigh Parker permalink
    October 27, 2009 4:28 pm

    ooo these look delicious!!! so cute and artsy!

  2. October 27, 2009 6:33 pm

    thanks best frand!

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

