Skip to content

Did you know?

October 25, 2009

Have you ever wondered how the idea of carrot cake came about? I have always been intrigued by how things were invented or discovered, and this is one of those things that seriously gets my brain working. Carrot cake really doesn’t sound all that appealing, & I definitely would never put carrots (or any other vegetable for that matter) in my desserts. Have you ever wondered why in the world someone would think that putting these orange veggies in cake batter would actually taste even decent? Or then wondered, why in the world does it taste so good? Well, after selling a few this past week I decided it was time for me to stop wondering & find out. So I went HERE, where I learned this:

1-This sweet treat has been around since the medieval period (that’s a REALLY long time for a recipe to still be circulating)
2- Carrots contain more sugar than any other vegetable besides the sugar beet, which makes them perfect candidates when making sweets
3- Sweeteners were scarce & expensive during that time so they used carrots as a cheap & available alternative

Pretty interesting! I feel smarter now. Do you? Probably not, but hey at least now you know.
I also found out that most food is invented by accident. Here’s some examples: popsicles, chocolate chip cookies, potato chips, ice cream cones, sandwiches. Click HERE if you actually want to know why. Ok, ok I’ll stop boring you with facts but I do have a carrot cake recipe. It’s my mom’s favorite cake & about 5 years ago I got a recipe from one of her friends & have been making it for her birthday ever since. I’ve tried a lot of different recipes but after tweeking this one a little, I finally got it just how I like it. But carrot cake is one of those things that you can make a million ways, so feel free to try it another way, or add to mine!

◊These things have some powerful color…


Batter before & after carrots were added

carrot batter

◊I hope you like orange

carrot cake

Mom’s Carrot Cake

2 cups sugar
4 eggs
1 cup Wesson oil
2 cups all purpose flour
1 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 tsp. cinnamon
1 tsp. nutmeg
2 ½ cups carrots
For the cream-cheese icing…
1 stick Parkay
1 8oz. packages cream cheese
1 Tbsp. vanilla
4 cups powdered sugar
1 cup chopped pecans

  • Pre-heat oven @324
  • Shred carrots in food processor & set aside
  • Mix together sugar, eggs & oil in mixer
  • Mix in flour, salt baking soda, vanilla, cinnamon & nutmeg until completely combined
  • Gently stir in carrots
  • Pour into 3 greased & lined round pans
  • Bake for 30-40 mins or until toothpick comes out clean
  • While cake is cooling make icing by beating butter, cream cheese, & vanilla together & slowly adding sugar until creamy
  • Ice the cake once it is cool
  • 2 Comments leave one →
    1. lbush permalink
      December 13, 2009 10:05 pm

      hey kels,
      me and my mommy are stalking your amazing blog–you are so talented! this is helping us get some ideas for christmas baking!! we thought we’d share a secret of ours for carrot cake–it sounds kinda weird but if you use baby food instead of actual carrots it makes the cake a lot moister, we love it that way! anyways good luck with everything, i miss you!! lots of love :)

    2. December 14, 2009 3:56 pm

      that’s a great idea! i’m going to have to try that. But thanks for reading and I hope I see you before you leave. have a great christmas!

    Leave a Reply

        Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 71 other followers

