Skip to content

Who are you?

October 22, 2009

“The train was filled with other children, all in their PJs & nightgowns. We sang Christmas carols & ate candies with nougat centers as white as snow. We drank hot cocoa as thick and rich as melted chocolate bars.” –The Polar Express

You can learn a lot about a person simply by how they like their hot chocolate. Marshmallows or whipped cream? Sweet & drizzly, or creamy & rich? When I was younger, my favorite Christmas movie was The Santa Clause with Tim Allen. I thought it was so cool that Charlie’s dad was a normal dad until he became Santa. I used to dream & pray that one day I would wake up & catch my dad in full-on Santa attire. hopping on his reindeer-led sleigh to deliver presents to the world on Christmas morning (I am now thanking God for unanswered prayers, because I think I would have some serious issues if that had actually happened). But my favorite & most memorable part of the movie was when Tim Allen first arrives at the North Pole & Judy, this adorable pointy-eared elf, serves him THIS silver chalice of steaming, thick hot cocoa. I wanted THAT hot cocoa, in fact I dreamed of it. This wasn’t the watery, instant, Nestle-powder hot chocolate that I had always had. This was secret hot chocolate; it poured as thick as lava & looked like heaven in a cup. I imagined that drinking one sip of this delectable drink would bring an enveloping sweetness in my mouth as rich as eating a slice of dark chocolate cake. It was my dream, my wish rather, to have a cup of hot cocoa as special as Judy’s in Santa Clause, & my wish has come true. So you see, I am a creamy, seriously rich & velvety kinda girl-& this is my kinda cocoa. Who are you? By the way, this recipe comes with a warning, a caution, and a very intriguing question…warninglabel[1]


And a very important message:



◊Are you Blair?- She’s sweet & delicate, conservative & traditional. She’s searching for Mr. Right & spends most of her time with her girlfriends shopping & getting her nails done. She likes her cup of cocoa served in a tea cup with a heart-shaped cookie on the side.


◊Or maybe you’re Jane-Natural & down to earth, she doesn’t care for shopping or makeup & spends every week end hiking in the mountains or camping in the woods. She’s a guy’s girl & doesn’t have too many girlfriends. She’ll take her cocoa in whatever you’ve got- just as long as she’s sitting around a large bonfire, roasting marshmallows.


◊Then there’s Roxanne-She is confident & chic, always a step ahead of the next fashion trend. She spends her week ends at runway events & is the definition of grace. She’ll be sipping her chocolate in a martini glass, thank you.




Baking & Boots36-1

My Wish Hot Cocoa

1 cup half & half
1 cup milk
6 Bakers semi-sweet chocolate squares
1 Tbsp. instant coffee powder (or coffee)
1 tsp. vanilla
Whipped cream, marshmallows, or any other toppings


  • Combine all ingredients & cook over medium-high heat, stirring constantly until all chocolate melts
  • Top with anything you’d like
  • ¤¤LESSONS LEARNED:The coffee might throw you off but no worries, it gives no coffee flavor to your cocoa whatsoever. It simply brings out the richness of the chocolate making your cocoa even more sinful.

    2 Comments leave one →
    1. Leigh Parker permalink
      October 23, 2009 6:14 pm

      hmm i think i’m a little jane and a little roxanne! it looks so yummy! i’m going to the grocery store today so i can make some!

    Leave a Reply

        Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 71 other followers

