Skip to content

Happy Fall

October 21, 2009

I have nothing to say about this pumpkin/apple cake except for the fact that it is…delectable, spicy, comforting, effortless and SO SO SO good. I stumbled upon it while blog stalking this girl the other day and decided that I had to try her cake. I am really glad I did because it changed my life, but my increasingly growing butt isn’t so appreciative. But it tastes like fall and is so, so worth it. That is really all I can say. If I had to describe fall I wouldn’t; I would just bake this cake & serve it instead. You HAVE to make this cake before the season is over, or for Thanksgiving. So go make it…now. Why are you still reading this? Go make it!!! Ok, that was annoying but seriously it is fall food at its finest.

Happy Fall Cake

1 small can pureed pumpkin
1 boxed cake mix (I like Duncan Hines’ golden yellow)
4 Tbsp. apple cider
2 cups powdered sugar
1 Tbsp. vanilla
1 Tbsp. cinnamon
1 Tbsp. nutmeg
½ tsp. cloves

  • Pre-heat oven @350
  • Mix together cake mix + pumpkin & pour in a greased baking dish
  • Bake for 25-30 mins or until done in middle using a toothpick to check
  • Once cake is cool, flip it onto a serving platter
  • Poke cool cake with a fork
  • Mix together remaining ingredients to form glaze
  • Pour glaze over cool cake
  • Cut & enjoy!
  • ◊Could it get any easier than this?

    cake ingredients

    ORANGE you glad you made this??? I’m hilarious, I know.

    Batter

    Mad at your boyfriend? Roomie? Boss? Picture your boyfriend/friend/boss’s face on this cake & go to work…

    fork

    Don’t forget the glaze…

    glaze ingredients

    ◊It’s like a sugar tart waterfall…

    Glazing

    ◊Fresh flowers always add a pretty touch

    flowers

    ◊I didn’t eat ALL this by myself in 2 days…only ¾ of it. Duh.

    eaten

    Happy Fall

    7 Comments leave one →
    1. Morgan Crittenden permalink
      October 22, 2009 2:37 am

      i’m addicted to your blog!!! but it makes me wayy too hungry!

      • October 22, 2009 3:44 am

        haha thanks! o and ya i just ate another piece of that cake so atleast you dont have it in front of you. I am seriously going to get fat from writing this blog haha

    2. Sarah Norton permalink
      October 27, 2009 2:40 am

      Kelsey! my little chi o family (kate j., lindsay c., and nancy jane) just baked the pumpkin cake and it was to die for!! we loved it! you are too cute, hope you are having a ball!
      Sarah

    3. October 27, 2009 1:14 pm

      Thanks Sarah! I am so glad yall liked it and that was so sweet of you to comment! I hope everything is going great with you!

    4. NancyJane Dekle permalink
      November 12, 2009 9:16 pm

      Hey Kelsey! I doubt you remember me from rush, but I am baking this cake right now with Anne Barron (Laura’s little sister) and it is sooo yummy! Your blog is so great..thanks for sharing!
      P.S. All of the treats for Chi O parents weekend were beautiful & delicious!

    5. November 13, 2009 12:38 pm

      hey nancyjane! O I remember you, ginger & leigh are 2 of my best friends & they made sure i knew who you were haha. But thanks! I hope yall like the cake!

    Trackbacks

    1. Halloween Cake Bites «

    Leave a Reply

        Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 71 other followers

